The Digital Education Foundation

The nonprofit Digital Education Foundation was founded in 2019 by Michaela Wienke and Jürgen Biffar.

Founded in 2019 by Michaela Wienke and Jürgen Biffar

In November 2019, the non-profit Digital Education Foundation was founded and approved by the Government of Upper Bavaria. The foundation sees itself as a service provider for educational institutions, which we want to enable to raise the level of education by creating and providing excellent learning tools. 

In a first pilot project, the Foundation proves that the development and exemplary use of learning software within the framework of an effective learning platform significantly increases teaching and learning success. At the same time, structures and processes are created that enable a rapid nationwide expansion.

We offer the educational institutions service packages for the creation of learning tools for other grades, subjects, school types and other regions.

The Founders 

Jürgen Biffar founded the software company DocuWare in Germering in 1988 as a student with former classmates. Together with his partner Thomas Schneck and, most recently, over 350 dedicated employees, he led the company to international success. Today, DocuWare is the world market leader for cloud-based document management and process automation in medium-sized companies. In 2019, both partners withdrew from the company and handed over the management of the company to experienced managers from within the company.

The donor couple Michaela Wienke and Jürgen Biffar live in Germering with their children. Already during his time at DocuWare, Jürgen Biffar was fascinated by the topic of digital education, inspired by his experiences at DocuWare, by the development of his own daughters and their circles of friends, and by the proximity to local schools that resulted from his volunteer work. Michaela Wienke was the main support for Jürgen Biffar and his family during his time at DocuWare. Thanks to this role and her many years of commitment as a parent advisory board member, she brings a great deal of practical experience to the joint foundation project. In 2019 both decided to invest a significant portion of the proceeds from the sale of the DocuWare shares in a foundation dedicated to digital education. Within the foundation, they also want to dedicate their own energy to the topic.

Our three Locations
dotted-map-europe.png

Germering / Germany

Germering is the home of the founders, to whom both owe a lot. Together with friends, they offered the first "Girls Technik Camps" for girls aged 8 to 13 years as part of the Industrial Association Germering  in 2016. In December 2018, the DigiClub e.V. was founded out of this initiative with young pupils, students, local companies, schools and private sponsors. Thanks to many years of work in the local School-Business-Committee, there are close ties to the local Schools. The city and the network that has been created are the ideal location for the headquarters of our foundation.

Eichstätt / Germany

Jürgen Biffar and Prof. Dr. Heiner Böttger met in spring 2018. Heiner Böttger trains college students as teachers at the Catholic University of Eichstätt and is also a passionate neuroscientist. He was infected by Jürgen Biffar's enthusiasm for digital learning and so they jointly conducted the first study seminar "Learning Success Through Digitalization" in the winter semester 2018/19. Twenty committed students analyzed the existing range of digital learning tools, evaluated their suitability for school lessons and developed their own concepts for learning programs that are geared to the given curricula. The commitment of the students and the results of their work were so outstanding that Heiner Böttger and Jürgen Biffar felt encouraged to start the development of excellent digital learning tools together with student teachers.

Since then, Eichstätt has proved to be the perfect location for the content conception of digital learning. Highly dedicated students are enthusiastic about working here. The university impresses with its great dynamics. Experts for "user experience" are recruited from the nearby Ingolstadt Technical University. In April 2020, a separate office is opened, which serves as a co-working space, meeting room and office and is a permanent meeting place for our author's and UX team.

Sofia / Bulgaria

Excellent software, as we need it for digital learning, needs excellent programmers, software architects, quality assurance and operations managers. In 1998, Nemetschek Bulgaria was founded by the Munich-based software group of the same name in Sofia, Bulgaria. It offers software development for third parties. Our founder, Jürgen Biffar, was a DocuWare customer from the very beginning. Today, Nemetschek Bulgaria is majority-owned by George Brashnarov, who has been managing director of the company from the beginning and now employs over 300 people. When Jürgen Biffar told him about his mission to increase the learning success of students in public schools with the help of very good software, he was thrilled. He offered to provide our foundation with a very good team at favorable conditions.

That is why we have excellent engineers in Sofia today, led by experienced managers. They develop the digital learning tools in close cooperation with our authors from Eichstätt. The EU country Bulgaria is home to many highly motivated software developers who can extend us in the future.

 

Successful in the Team

Behind the Digital Education Foundation is an energetic and competent team from various fields. Together we consistently pursue the foundation's goal.

Would you like to join us? Send an e-mail to info@digi-edu.org

 
Authoring
(Org-Structure valid as of July 2021)
Authoring English

Gymnasium: 5th Grade
Gymnasium: 6th Grade (completed, pilot starts 9/2021)
Mittelschule: 6th Grade
Authoring Mathematics
Gymnasium: 5th Grade
Gymnasium: 6th Grade (completed, pilot starts 9/2021)
Mittelschule: 6th Grade
 
User Experience

 

Programs must be easy to understand, simple to use and at the same time inspire with graphics and animation. Our UX experts are responsible for this and for user tests, while at the same time providing a valuable link to software development.

 
Engineers

 

Digital learning tools are programmed, tested and made available via the cloud for use by tens of thousands of users. This is done by our software engineers in Sofia.

Software Engineering Team NEMETSCHEK Sofia, Bulgaria
Software Engineering Team TITANOM Technologies Germering, Germany
Quality Management 

 

To ensure the optimal, fluid performance of our learning software, it is constantly tested for usability. Our Quality Management Team in Germering conscientiously takes on this task. 

Marketing and PR

 

An appropriate image of our channels and continuous press relations are essential for achieving our goals. We rely on the expertise of internal and external specialists.

 
Administration

 

Stable processes and structures, reliable management are the basis of our foundation work. We rely on the expertise of internal and external specialists.

Die Stiftung Digitale Bildung

Die gemeinnützige Stiftung Digitale Bildung wurde 2019 von Michaela Wienke und Jürgen Biffar gegründet.

Die Stifter Michaela Wienke und Jürgen Biffar

Jürgen Biffar hat 1988 als Student mit ehemaligen Mitschülern das Softwareunternehmen DocuWare in Germering gegründet. Gemeinsam mit seinem Partner Thomas Schneck und zuletzt über 350 engagierten Mitarbeitern führte er das Unternehmen zu internationalem Erfolg. DocuWare ist heute Weltmarkführer für Cloud-basiertes Dokumentenmanagement und Prozessautomation in mittelständischen Unternehmen. Im Jahr 2019 zogen sich beide Partner aus dem Unternehmen zurück und übergaben die Unternehmensleitung an erfahrene Führungskräfte aus den eigenen Reihen. 

Das Stifterehepaar Michaela Wienke und Jürgen Biffar lebt mit ihren gemeinsamen Kindern in Germering. Schon während seiner DocuWare-Zeit faszinierte Jürgen Biffar das Thema Digitale Bildung, inspiriert durch die Erfahrungen bei DocuWare, durch die Entwicklung der eigenen Töchter und deren Freundeskreise und durch die Nähe zu den örtlichen Schulen, die aus seinen ehrenamtlichen Tätigkeiten resultierte. Michaela Wienke war während der DocuWare-Zeit die wesentliche Stütze für Jürgen Biffar und die Familie. Dank dieser Rolle und langjährigem Engagement als Elternbeirätin bringt sie viel praktische Erfahrung in das gemeinsame Stiftungsprojekt ein. 2019 beschlossen beide, einen wesentlichen Teil des Erlöses aus dem Verkauf der DocuWare-Anteile in eine Stiftung zu investieren, die sich der Digitalen Bildung widmen solle. In der Stiftung wollen sie sich auch selbst mit ihrer eigenen Energie für das Thema engagieren.

 

Im November 2019 wurde die gemeinnützige Stiftung Digitale Bildung – Digital Education Foundation gegründet und von der Regierung von Oberbayern genehmigt.

Unsere drei Standorte

Germering / Deutschland

Germering ist die Heimat der Stifter, der beide viel zu verdanken haben. Gemeinsam mit Freunden haben sie im Rahmen des Wirtschaftsverband Germering im Jahr 2016 die ersten „Girls Technik Camps“ für Mädchen von 8 bis 13 Jahren angeboten. Im Dezember 2018 wurde aus dieser Initiative heraus mit jugendlichen Schülerinnen und Schülern, Studierenden, örtlichen Unternehmen, Schulen und privaten Förderern der DigiClub e.V. gegründet. Dank jahrelanger Arbeit im Germeringer Arbeitskreis Schule-Wirtschaft bestehen engste Beziehungen zu den örtlichen Schulen. Die Stadt und das entstandene Netzwerk sind der ideale Standort für den Sitz unserer Stiftung. Um dem Verein und weiteren gemeinnützigen Bildungsorganisationen künftig zu günstigen Konditionen eine Heimat bieten zu können, erwarb die Stiftung im April diesen Jahres ein Gebäude mit angehörigem Grundstück in der Landsberger Straße in Germering. 

Eichstätt / Deutschland

Im Frühjahr 2018 lernten sich Jürgen Biffar und Prof. Dr. Heiner Böttger kennen. Heiner Böttger bildet an der Katholischen Universität Eichstätt junge Menschen zu Lehrern aus und ist gleichzeitig passionierter Neurowissenschaftler. Er ließ sich von Jürgen Biffars Begeisterung für digitales Lernen anstecken und so führte man im Wintersemester 2018/19 gemeinsam das erste Studienseminar „Lernerfolg durch Digitalisierung“ durch. 20 engagierte Studentinnen und Studenten analysierten das vorhandene Angebot an digitalen Lernwerkzeugen, bewerteten deren Eignung für den Schulunterricht und entwickelten eigene Konzepte für Lernprogramme, die auf die vorgegebenen Lehrplänen ausgerichtet sind. Das Engagement der Studierenden und die Arbeitsergebnisse waren so herausragend, dass sich Heiner Böttger und Jürgen Biffar ermutigt sahen, zusammen mit Lehramt-Studierenden die Grundlage für die Entwicklung exzellenter digitaler Lernwerkzeuge zu legen.

Seitdem hat sich Eichstätt als perfekter Standort für die inhaltliche Konzeption digitalen Lernens herausgestellt. Engagierte Studierende lassen sich für die Mitarbeit begeistern. Die Universität beeindruckt durch große Dynamik. Von der nahegelegenen Technischen Hochschule Ingolstadt werden Experten für „User Experience“ gewonnen. Im April 2020 wurde ein eigenes Office eröffnet, das als Co-Working-Space, Meeting-Raum und Büro dient und unserem Autoren- und UX-Team ständiger Treffpunkt ist.

Sofia / Bulgarien

Hervorragende Software, wie wir sie für das digitale Lernen brauchen, braucht hervorragende Programmierer, Softwarearchitekten, Qualitätssicherer und Operations Manager. Im Jahr 1998 wurde die Firma Nemetschek Bulgaria vom gleichnamigen Münchner Software-Konzern in Sofia, Bulgarien gegründet. Sie bietet Softwareentwicklung für Dritte an. Unser Stifter Jürgen Biffar war als DocuWare-Vorstand von Anfang an Kunde. Heute gehört Nemetschek Bulgaria mehrheitlich George Brashnarov, der dem Unternehmen seit Beginn als Geschäftsführer vorsteht und mittlerweile über 300 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. Als ihm Jürgen Biffar von der Mission erzählte, den Lernerfolg von Schülern an öffentlichen Schulen mit Hilfe sehr guter Software zu erhöhen, war er begeistert. Er erklärte sich bereit, für unsere Stiftung ein sehr gutes Team zu günstigen Konditionen bereit zu stellen.

Daher haben wir heute in Sofia exzellente Ingenieure, geleitet von erfahrenen Managern. Sie entwickeln die digitalen Lernwerkzeuge in enger Abstimmung mit unseren Autoren aus Eichstätt. Im EU-Land Bulgarien leben viele hochmotivierte Software-Entwicklerinnen und -Entwickler, die uns in Zukunft verstärken können.

Erfolgreich im Team

Hinter der Stiftung Digitale Bildung steht ein tatkräftiges und fachkompetentes Team aus unterschiedlichsten Bereichen. Gemeinsam verfolgen wir konsequent das Ziel der Stiftung.

Möchtest auch du dabei sein und dich engagieren? Dann schicke eine Mail an info@digi-edu.org

 
Autoren

 

Auf die Inhalte kommt es an bei guten Lernwerkzeugen. Studierende des Lehramts erarbeiten diese Inhalte, betreut von Mentoren mit reichlich Unterrichtserfahrung. Die Nähe zur Universität sichert den ständigen Zufluss kreativer Ideen.

Autorenteam Englisch:

Max
Bitterwolf

Software-Autor

Prof. Dr.
Heiner Böttger

Leiter Professur

Englisch-Didaktik

Universität Eichstätt,

Mentor

Anika
Föckersperger

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Friederike
Hornung

Lehrerin

Software-Autorin
+ Scrum Master 

Christina
Linner

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin 
 

Justin
Mooney

Teacher

Canada,

Speaker + Language Corrector

Rebecca
Pape

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin 

Cecilia
Scheller

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Jakob
Schmidt

Student Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autor

Veronika Stampfer

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,
Software-Autorin

Autorenteam Mathematik:

Alina
Blasi

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Eva-Maria
Falk

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Thomas
Haas

Lehrbeauftragter Mathematik-Didaktik Universität Eichstätt + Mathematik-Lehrer Gymnasium Beilngries, Mentor

Bianca
Höppner

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Lena 
Meißner

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Marie 
Röttger

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Lucie
Schindhelm

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Sabrina
Scholz

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

Sonja
Völkel

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin

 
User Experience

 

Programme müssen leicht verständlich, einfach zu bedienen sein und gleichzeitig durch Grafik und Animation begeistern. Dafür und für die Anwendertests sind unsere UX-Experten zuständig und bilden gleichzeitig ein wertvolles Bindeglied zur Softwareentwicklung.

Moritz Auer

Student Hochschule München,

Grafik Designer

Martin Bartl

Diplom-Kommunikations-designer

Grafik Designer

Hannah Nicklas

Senior Manager User Experience and Testing

Kerstin Niefnecker

UX-Spezialistin

Vanessa Straube

Studentin Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt,
User Experience Designerin

Ingenieure

 

Digitale Lernwerkzeuge werden programmiert, getestet und über die Cloud zur Nutzung für zigtausend Benutzer bereit gestellt. Das übernehmen unsere Software-Ingenieure in Sofia.

Subby
Angelov

Team Leader

Nemetschek Bulgaria,

Engineering Team Leader

Ibraim
Asanov

Senior QA Engineer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

Hristian
Dimitrov

Software Developer Nemetschek Bulgaria

Kiril
Iliev

Software Developer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

 
Lena
Zitzelsberger

Studentin Universität

Eichstätt,

Software-Autorin
+ Scrum Master

Yoana
Ilieva

Senior Software Developer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

Mariana 
Poroilieva

Software Developer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

Aleksandrina
Koleva

Software Developer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

Viktor
Minkovski

Team Leader Nemetschek Bulgaria, Engineering Team Leader + Software Architect

Nedyalko
Nedelchev

Software Engineer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

 
Administration

 

Stabile Prozesse und Strukturen, verlässliche Führung sowie ein angemessenes Erscheinungsbild sind für die Erreichung unserer Ziele essenziell. Wir verlassen uns auf die Expertise interner und externer Spezialisten.

Jürgen
Biffar

Software-Unternehmer + Stifter,

Gesamtleitung

Helena
Dreßler

Studentin,
Software Testing

Anika
Föckersperger

Studentin Universität Eichstätt,
Marketing, Assistant Team Manager

Sabrina
Glatz

Studentin, 
Finanzen + Software Testing

Alexander
Koch

Kanzlei Koch,

Steuerberater

Michaela Wienke.jpg
Michaela
Wienke

Diplom-Kauffrau + Stifterin,

Finanzen + Personalverwaltung

Nils
Kohl

Student,
Software Testing

Steffen Oberlaender
Steffen
Oberländer

Infografik Oberländer,

Marketing

Bianca
Krenauer

Giorgi Steuerberatung GmbH,

Buchhaltung

Lena
Roller

Studentin Hochschule Regensburg, Team Development Manager

 
Mach mit und sei dabei

 

Wir sind immer auf der Suche nach kreativen Denkern, motivierten Entwicklern und engagierten Teamplayern.

Senior Software Developer

Nemetschek Bulgaria

Miloslav
Todorov

Student Technische Universität München, Software-Engineer
+ AI-Specialist

Andrija
Vuksanovic

Stiftung Digitale Bildung |

Digital Education Foundation

Birkenweg 34b | 82110 Germering | Deutschland

info@digi-edu.org

© 2020 by Stiftung Digitale Bildung

SDB_Logo_new2.png